Written By Research Team
AI Outbound Calling
Fact Checked
All pricing verified against vendor documentation
Updated
AI outbound calling moved from demo to production fast, and the market has not caught up on basics. Of the 14 platforms we scored, 6 will not show you a price without a sales call, and only 3 document TCPA tooling — the rule that actually governs cold outbound in the United States.
We scored every platform on the same published 100-point rubric: pricing transparency, outbound capability, compliance and security, integrations, time to first call, and scale. Rank order is produced by the score, not by editorial preference or commercial relationship. Every price below was read from the vendor's own documentation and is dated.
Featured Partner · Our Company
iTheLeadRouter
Scored 87/100 · Ranked #2Lead distribution, call routing and TCPA consent infrastructure — with AI dialing built in.
- The most transparent pricing in this review — every service has a published per-unit rate
- One $147/mo plan includes every feature, with no tier-gating of compliance tools
- Consent evidence stored on the lead record with DNC checks and an audit trail
- Ping-post, waterfall routing and RTB for buyer delivery that voice platforms do not offer
Ownership disclosure: AI Outbound Calling and TheLeadRouter are owned by the same company. This is a paid placement by us. TheLeadRouter is also scored on the same published rubric as every other platform — it earned 87/100 and ranks #2 on merit, not because we own it.
6/14
platforms will not show a price without a sales call.
3/14
document TCPA tooling for US cold outbound.
7/14
hold SOC 2 — on one, only via annual contract.
Buyer warning: Air AI is defunct and FTC-banned
Still widely searched, but its voice services went dark in late 2024 and in March 2026 its owners accepted an $18M judgment and a permanent ban on marketing business opportunities.Read what happened.
All 14 Platforms Compared
Sorted by total score. "Sales-gated" means the vendor publishes no price at all, which costs points under our rubric — you cannot budget for what you cannot see.
| Rank | Platform | Score | Pricing | Cost | Concurrency | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bland AI | 91A | Published | $0.14/min (Start), $0.12/min (Build); transfers $0.05 and $0.04/min | 10 (Start) / 50 (Build) / sized to volume (Enterprise) | Autonomous |
| 2 | TheLeadRouter | 87A− | Published | AI dialing $0.50/min; call tracking and routing $0.05/min | Not published | AI-assisted |
| 3 | JustCall | 87A− | Published | AI Voice Agent from $0.15/min with volume discounts | Seat-based; unlimited minutes on Business tier | AI-assisted |
| 4 | Retell AI | 84A− | Published | $0.07–$0.31/min for voice agents; chat from $0.002/msg | 20 free concurrent calls; additional concurrency $8/mo each | Autonomous |
| 5 | Vapi | 76B+ | Published | $0.05/min calls, $0.005/msg chat; volume-based on Scale | 10 included, +$10/line/mo; custom on Scale | Autonomous |
| 6 | ElevenLabs Agents | 73B+ | Published | $0.080/min standard; $0.160/min burst above your concurrency limit | 4 to 40 depending on tier — the lowest ceiling in this review | Autonomous |
| 7 | PhoneBurner | 71B | Published | Standard $140, Professional $165, Premium $183 per user/mo annually ($165/$195/$215 monthly) | Seat-based human dialing | AI-assisted |
| 8 | Synthflow | 69B | Sales-gated | Custom — quoted on call volume, concurrency, telephony, integrations and security review | Custom concurrency planning with routing and escalation paths | Autonomous |
| 9 | Thoughtly | 69B | Published | Flex from $500/mo; Scale and Enterprise quoted | 10 (Flex) / 100+ (Scale) / custom (Enterprise) | Autonomous |
| 10 | Regal AI | 64B | Sales-gated | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Autonomous |
| 11 | Convoso | 61B− | Sales-gated | Not disclosed; 20% discount on annual plans advertised | Not disclosed; predictive dialing scales with seats | AI-assisted |
| 12 | Kixie | 57B− | Sales-gated | Not displayed on the pricing page | Up to 4 simultaneous lines per seat on Multi-Line PowerDialer | AI-assisted |
| 13 | Nooks | 53C+ | Sales-gated | Not disclosed | Parallel dialing per rep; figures not disclosed | AI-assisted |
| 14 | Orum | 50C+ | Sales-gated | Not disclosed | Parallel dialing; unlimited dials on paid plans | AI-assisted |
The Top 10, Ranked
Position is determined entirely by rubric score. Where two platforms tie on total, the higher outbound capability score breaks it.
Autonomous AI Agent
Bland AI
Purpose-built outbound AI calling with the clearest compliance posture in the category.
Bland is the only vendor we reviewed that publishes a flat per-minute rate, states daily call and concurrency ceilings for every tier, and holds SOC 2 Type II, a HIPAA BAA, GDPR and PCI DSS at once. It also offers on-prem/VPC deployment, which almost nothing else at this price does. You can start with no credit card. It loses points only on ecosystem breadth: there is less turnkey CRM tooling than platforms built around integrations.
Best for: Teams running regulated or high-volume outbound who need a published rate and a signed BAA.
- Pricing
- Published
- Cost
- $0.14/min on the free Start tier; $0.12/min on Build at $299/mo
- Concurrency
- 10 (Start) / 50 (Build) / sized to volume (Enterprise)
- Free trial
- 2 credits plus an inbound number ($15/mo value), no card required
What We Liked
- Flat published per-minute rate with no separate token or model charges
- SOC 2 Type I and Type II, HIPAA BAA, GDPR and PCI DSS together
- On-prem and VPC deployment available for regulated buyers
- Concurrency and daily call caps are stated per tier instead of hidden
Watch Out For
- Smaller turnkey integration catalogue than integration-led platforms
- The $299/mo Build fee is real overhead for very low-volume users
- Start tier caps at 100 calls/day, which is quickly outgrown
Routing & Compliance Infrastructure
Our CompanyTheLeadRouter
Lead distribution, call routing and TCPA consent infrastructure — with AI dialing built in.
TheLeadRouter solves the half of the problem the voice-agent platforms do not. It handles what happens around the call: ping-post and waterfall routing, call tracking and RTB, live transfer, buyer contracts, caps, billing and payouts — plus consent capture with evidence stored on the lead record and DNC checks with an audit trail. Its pricing is the most transparent in this entire review: one $147/mo plan with every feature, and a published per-unit rate for every service. The honest caveat is the one that costs it the top spot: AI dialing runs $0.50/min, several times what the AI-native platforms charge, and there is no published SOC 2 or HIPAA certification. Buy it for routing, compliance and buyer delivery — not because it is the cheapest way to place a minute of AI calls.
Best for: Lead generators, affiliate networks and pay-per-call operators who need routing, consent evidence and buyer delivery around their calling.
- Pricing
- Published
- Cost
- $147/mo flat, every feature included; AI dialing $0.50/min
- Concurrency
- Not published
- Free trial
- No credit card to explore; plan starts at checkout
What We Liked
- The most transparent pricing in this review — every service has a published per-unit rate
- One $147/mo plan includes every feature, with no tier-gating of compliance tools
- Consent evidence stored on the lead record with DNC checks and an audit trail
- Ping-post, waterfall routing and RTB for buyer delivery that voice platforms do not offer
- 600+ API endpoints and white-label buyer/publisher portals
Watch Out For
- AI dialing at $0.50/min is several times the rate of the AI-native platforms
- No published SOC 2 or HIPAA certification
- Not a specialised conversational voice-agent builder — no published voice or latency controls
- No published concurrency ceilings or uptime SLA
- We own this platform — see the ownership disclosure on every page it appears
AI-Assisted Dialer
JustCall
A mature, fully-priced sales phone system that added a credible AI voice agent.
JustCall scores high for reasons that have nothing to do with AI hype: it publishes every seat price, and it holds the broadest certification set we found — SOC 2, HIPAA, ISO, PCI DSS, GDPR and CSA STAR. If your blocker is procurement rather than capability, this is the path of least resistance. The caveat matters though: its AI Voice Agent starts at $0.15/min, which is more expensive per minute than Bland, Retell or Vapi, and the core product is still a seat-based phone system.
Best for: Sales teams that need a compliant phone system first and autonomous AI calling second.
- Pricing
- Published
- Cost
- $29–$89 per user/mo billed annually; AI Voice Agent from $0.15/min
- Concurrency
- Seat-based; unlimited minutes on Business tier
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial, no credit card
What We Liked
- Every seat price published — no sales call needed to budget
- Widest certification set in this review: SOC 2, HIPAA, ISO, PCI DSS, GDPR, CSA STAR
- 14-day trial with no credit card
- 100+ integrations and local numbers in 70+ countries
Watch Out For
- AI Voice Agent at $0.15/min is pricier per minute than the AI-native platforms
- Core product is a seat-based phone system, not an autonomous outbound engine
- Per-seat minimums make small pilots less economical than usage-based rivals
Autonomous AI Agent
Retell AI
The most granular, itemised pricing in the category — and the easiest honest cost model to audit.
Retell publishes a full component breakdown: voice infrastructure, TTS, each LLM, and every add-on priced separately. That is unusual and genuinely pro-buyer — you can model your real cost per minute before signing anything. It is also the most generous free start, with $10 in credits and 20 concurrent calls at no cost. The trade-off is that the headline '$0.07–$0.31/min' is a wide band, and your actual rate depends entirely on which model you pick.
Best for: Builders who want to model exact unit economics and tune cost per minute by swapping models.
- Pricing
- Published
- Cost
- $0.07–$0.31/min depending on voice and model, from $0 with $10 free credits
- Concurrency
- 20 free concurrent calls; additional concurrency $8/mo each
- Free trial
- $10 in free credits and 20 free concurrent calls
What We Liked
- Component-level pricing you can audit line by line before committing
- $10 free credits and 20 free concurrent calls to start
- Billing does not round up, and only connected calls are charged
- Branded caller ID available as a priced add-on
Watch Out For
- The $0.07–$0.31/min band is wide — real cost depends heavily on model choice
- 'HIPAA-ready' is weaker language than a signed BAA
- Add-ons stack quickly: knowledge base, PII removal and concurrency are each billed separately
- Billing continues during silence and hold time
Autonomous AI Agent
Vapi
The cheapest published platform rate and the most developer-flexible — if you can live with the compliance gap.
At $0.05/min Vapi has the lowest published platform rate here, and bringing your own model keys can take model cost to zero. For engineering teams it is the most composable option. But read the compliance row carefully: the self-serve Build tier has no SOC 2, no SSO and no RBAC, HIPAA is a $2,000/mo add-on, zero data retention is another $1,000/mo, and call history is kept only 14 days. Those controls arrive on the annual Scale contract.
Best for: Engineering teams building custom voice products who will bring their own model keys.
- Pricing
- Published
- Cost
- $0.05/min on Build, plus model costs at cost (or $0 with your own keys)
- Concurrency
- 10 included, +$10/line/mo; custom on Scale
- Free trial
- No stated trial credits; signup via dashboard
What We Liked
- Lowest published platform rate in the review at $0.05/min
- Bring your own model keys and pay $0 for inference
- Highly composable — the most developer-flexible option here
- Concurrency priced transparently at $10/line/mo
Watch Out For
- Build tier has no SOC 2, SSO or RBAC — those require the annual Scale contract
- HIPAA costs $2,000/mo and zero data retention another $1,000/mo
- Call history retained only 14 days on Build
- No stated free trial credits
Autonomous AI Agent
ElevenLabs Agents
Best-in-class voice quality with the most predictable tier pricing — but low concurrency for campaigns.
ElevenLabs publishes a complete tier table from a free plan up to $990/mo, and $0.080/min is easy to reason about. Voice quality is the category benchmark. The problem for outbound specifically is concurrency: even the $990/mo Business tier allows only 40 concurrent calls, and exceeding your limit triggers burst pricing at double rate. For a serious outbound campaign that ceiling arrives fast.
Best for: Teams where voice realism matters more than raw dialing concurrency.
- Pricing
- Published
- Cost
- $0.080/min; plans from free to $990/mo Business
- Concurrency
- 4 to 40 depending on tier — the lowest ceiling in this review
- Free trial
- Free tier with 15 minutes and 4 concurrent calls
What We Liked
- Complete public tier table — no sales call to understand cost
- Category-leading voice realism
- Genuine free tier lets you place a real call in minutes
- Simple $0.080/min headline rate
Watch Out For
- Concurrency tops out at 40 even on the $990/mo tier — limiting for outbound campaigns
- Burst pricing doubles your rate to $0.160/min when you exceed concurrency
- SOC 2 and GDPR are not stated on the agents pricing page
- LLM and telephony costs are additional on top of the per-minute rate
AI-Assisted Dialer
PhoneBurner
Not an AI voice agent — a very transparent human power dialer that keeps reps on the phone.
We are ranking PhoneBurner honestly rather than conveniently: it is not an AI calling platform. It is a human-powered power dialer, and it says so. It earns its position on transparency — every seat price is published — and on doing its actual job well. If your problem is rep talk-time rather than replacing reps, this solves it without any AI risk. If you came here for autonomous AI calling, this is not that product.
Best for: Teams that want more human conversations per hour, not autonomous AI calls.
- Pricing
- Published
- Cost
- $140–$183 per user/mo billed annually
- Concurrency
- Seat-based human dialing
- Free trial
- Free trial including free dialing minutes (count not disclosed)
What We Liked
- Every seat price published, annual and monthly
- Built-in CRM on all tiers
- Free trial with dialing minutes included
- 100+ integrations via open API on Professional and Premium
Watch Out For
- Not an AI voice agent — this is human-powered dialing
- AI transcription and note-taking locked to the Premium tier
- No SOC 2 or HIPAA certification stated on the pricing page
- Spam protection and connect scoring cost extra
Autonomous AI Agent
Synthflow
Enterprise-only voice AI with ISO 27001 and EU hosting — and a $30,000 annual floor.
Synthflow has moved upmarket and now sells enterprise contracts only, starting at $30,000 per year. To its credit it publishes that floor, which most sales-gated vendors will not do. The compliance stack is the strongest here alongside Bland — SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR and ISO 27001, with EU or US hosting. But there is no self-serve path at all: you cannot place a test call without going through sales.
Best for: Enterprises with EU data residency or ISO 27001 requirements and a six-figure contact-centre budget.
- Pricing
- Sales-gated
- Cost
- Enterprise contracts start at $30,000 annually
- Concurrency
- Custom concurrency planning with routing and escalation paths
- Free trial
- None offered
What We Liked
- Publishes its $30,000 annual floor instead of hiding it entirely
- ISO 27001 in addition to SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR
- EU and US hosting options for data residency
- Implementation and launch support included in the contract
Watch Out For
- No self-serve tier — you cannot test it without contacting sales
- $30,000/year floor rules out small and mid-market buyers
- No published per-minute rate to model unit economics
- Quote depends on a security review, lengthening procurement
Autonomous AI Agent
Thoughtly
Unlimited minutes at a flat $500/mo entry point, with the deepest integration catalogue here.
Thoughtly's pricing shape is genuinely different: a flat $500/mo Flex tier with unlimited voice minutes, SMS, email and production agents, rather than per-minute metering. For predictable-budget buyers that is attractive. Two caveats: Flex allows only 10 concurrent calls, and the compliance you probably need — SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA/BAA, SSO — is Enterprise-only, with Flex getting basic audit logging. Overages are billed in arrears, so 'unlimited' has edges.
Best for: Multi-channel teams wanting predictable monthly cost and heavy CRM integration.
- Pricing
- Published
- Cost
- Flex starts at $500/mo with unlimited voice minutes; Scale and Enterprise tailored
- Concurrency
- 10 (Flex) / 100+ (Scale) / custom (Enterprise)
- Free trial
- Pilot referenced in FAQ, terms not published
What We Liked
- Flat $500/mo entry with unlimited voice minutes — predictable budgeting
- 200+ integrations and two-way CRM sync, the deepest catalogue reviewed
- 34+ languages with voice cloning
- Voice, SMS and email in one workflow engine
Watch Out For
- SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA and SSO are Enterprise-only; Flex gets basic audit logging
- Only 10 concurrent calls on the $500/mo Flex tier
- Overages billed in arrears, so 'unlimited' is qualified
- Scale and Enterprise pricing not published
Autonomous AI Agent
Regal AI
Serious high-volume outbound with TCPA tooling — for contact centres of 25 agents and up.
Regal is built for real outbound contact centres and its compliance list is outbound-specific in a way most AI-native vendors' are not, explicitly covering TCPA alongside SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR and CCPA. That matters enormously for cold outbound. What it costs is anyone's guess: pricing is entirely sales-gated, and Regal itself states a fit threshold of at least 25 agents and 100,000 minutes a month. Below that you are not the customer.
Best for: Established contact centres running 100k+ outbound minutes a month.
- Pricing
- Sales-gated
- Cost
- Sales-gated; usage-based with discounts for higher spend and longer contracts
- Concurrency
- Not disclosed
- Free trial
- None offered
What We Liked
- Explicit TCPA coverage — rare and important for cold outbound
- Built for genuine high-volume contact-centre outbound
- SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR and CCPA alongside TCPA
- Usage-based pricing that discounts with commitment
Watch Out For
- No public pricing whatsoever
- Stated fit threshold of 25+ agents and 100k+ minutes/month excludes most buyers
- No free trial
- Integration list not published in detail
Not sure which platform fits?
Tell us your call volume, industry and compliance requirements. We'll show you which platforms in this ranking actually qualify — and which ones rule you out on seat minimums.
Free · No obligation
Also Evaluated
These scored below the top ten but remain credible for specific situations.
| Rank | Platform | Score | Pricing | Cost | Concurrency | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 11 | Convoso | 61B− | Sales-gated | Not disclosed; 20% discount on annual plans advertised | Not disclosed; predictive dialing scales with seats | AI-assisted |
| 12 | Kixie | 57B− | Sales-gated | Not displayed on the pricing page | Up to 4 simultaneous lines per seat on Multi-Line PowerDialer | AI-assisted |
| 13 | Nooks | 53C+ | Sales-gated | Not disclosed | Parallel dialing per rep; figures not disclosed | AI-assisted |
| 14 | Orum | 50C+ | Sales-gated | Not disclosed | Parallel dialing; unlimited dials on paid plans | AI-assisted |
Frequently Asked Questions
What does AI outbound calling actually cost?
Published platform rates in our review run from $0.05/min (Vapi) to $0.50/min (TheLeadRouter) — a 10× spread. The headline rate is rarely the real rate: Vapi bills model costs separately at cost, Retell prices voice, LLM and each add-on as distinct line items, and ElevenLabs adds LLM and telephony on top. Bland is closest to all-in, folding transcription and premium voices into its per-minute price.
Is AI outbound calling legal?
Calling is legal, but US outbound to consumers is heavily regulated under the TCPA, and AI-generated voice adds a further layer — the FCC has ruled AI-generated voices in robocalls fall under existing restrictions. You generally need prior express written consent for automated marketing calls to mobiles, working DNC scrubbing, and clear identification. Only 3 of the 14 platforms we scored explicitly document TCPA tooling. This is not legal advice.
Which platform is best for a small team starting out?
Start where you can place a real call without a sales call. Bland AI needs no credit card and includes a free inbound number; Retell AI gives $10 in credits and 20 free concurrent calls; ElevenLabs has a genuine free tier. Avoid the sales-gated platforms until you know your volume — Synthflow starts at $30,000/year and Regal wants 25+ agents.
Do AI voice agents actually book meetings?
Results vary far more than vendor marketing suggests. Practitioners report wide outcomes, including builds that took months to produce a modest daily booking rate. Treat any vendor-supplied ROI figure as a claim, not a benchmark — the FTC has already brought an enforcement action in this category over inflated earnings claims. Run a paid pilot against your own list before committing to annual terms.
What is the difference between autonomous agents, assisted dialers and infrastructure?
Autonomous platforms (Bland, Retell, Vapi, ElevenLabs, Synthflow, Thoughtly, Regal) have the AI hold the conversation. AI-assisted tools (Nooks, Orum, PhoneBurner, Kixie, Convoso, JustCall) use AI for answer detection, parallel dialing and coaching while a human rep talks. Infrastructure (TheLeadRouter) handles what happens around the call — routing, consent evidence, buyer delivery and billing. They solve different problems and are often used together.